The meme

The meme is one of those Internet chain letter, forward to 10 friends, kinds of things. Tell 25 facts about yourself and pass it on. That’s a  meme. I’m the meme killer. I am a curmudgeon; memes feel like a time eater to a person with not much time to spare. When I get one, I just ignore it. People must love doing them, however, because they continue to circulate.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the meme.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “The meme”

  1. The meme is every blogger’s godsend — a snow day, a crackerjack prize, a get out of jail free card for those days when there’s nothing in the idea tank and the feeling of putting word to screen is more of a chore than a pleasure. I love memes.

  2. A meme is a meme only if and when it spreads. Until then, it’s information or a cheeky request for same. I receive a lot of those insidious e-mails, the ones that set out to Spread the Meme, and I see it as my duty to stop them in their tracks.

  3. Careful what you start

    It was feeling so tired and stretched.

    ‘A meme is like a virus,’ Roger explained.

    ‘For real, said the little boy?

    ‘No, it’s just a way of speaking. You can post the first message.’

    And so it grew and grew

    Grown-up, Mark pressed the button that wrestled the internet back.

An open space for your story