Write Today

The title page of the book I started yesterday gave me a shock when I realized how many books I’ve read by this author. Plus, how many books she’s written! I tweeted this.

J.A. Jance has some objections to the word prolific. She said,

I asked what word she’d prefer and a fan (dare I say another fan since this fan didn’t know the answer) told me.

To that I say, YES! Write something today. Just write.

Even if all you write is your first 50 words on the topic “write today.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Write Today”

  1. This short phrase reminds me of a poem written by Pablo Neruda entitled ” Tonight I Can Write the Saddest Verses.” It’s a love poem that depicts love found and lost—indeed very sad because we can all relate to this sentimental theme. So, I write today, why is it that, at times, in love’s short course, oblivion is so prolonged?

  2. As they say, today is as good a day as any other to start writing.
    Write about the rights of life,
    The right to write and the right to what you have written,
    Writing is a right on its own,
    Word limits are an infringement on my right
    To write freely,
    So I say, forget the boundaries,
    Expand your horizons,
    Restrict not your pen
    And use your right to write
    With all your might,
    Who knows you might write something right.

  3. For the last half an hour , she reminisced about her past, childhood, her romances, over a very lukewarm cup of tea. Finally, she picked up the now-cold cup, tossed her mane in true dramatic style, and declared, “someday, I am going to write it all down”.
    “Write today”.
    “Excuse me!”
    She glanced up from her cup, indignantly, to meet a couple of very brown eyes, staring down into hers. The waiter finished wiping the table top with a flourish, and reiterated, “write it down now , miss, while the words are still flowing”
    She was at a loss….

An open space for your story

